Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Blur caused by light problem

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default Blur caused by light problem

    Hi, new guy here, dv camera newbie as well. It's cool to be here. I have an HV20 and I think it's great but I'm hoping that someone can offer tips or suggestions concerning my problem. I'm filming really small crystal skulls that sit on a light box in a dark room. Unfortunately the light causes the camera to blur the image when it gets particularly bright - which is constant. I've tried filming at a distance with the zoom but to no avail. I've tried all the different settings and modes on the camera also but since I don't really know what I'm doing, maybe I'm missing something. I much prefer to use the cinematic mode in HD but am open to any suggestions that might solve this.

    Is there a lens that I could buy that would solve this?

    Will a more expensive/professional camera solve this? If so, any least expensive recommendations?

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JgoWd...ure=plpp_video

    Any advice would be much appreciative.

  2. #2
    Legend Almohada's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    California
    Posts
    5,762

    Default

    Ah! Looks like you just need to lock the exposure! .... aka "Exposure Lock Trick"

    Using the D-pad on the back of the camera, press the up / down button until you see the exposure setting on the LCD screen. Set it where you want it (for example -2, -1, 0, +1, +2 ... usually never go over zero and for your case you should probably be at -1 or even -2) and then press OK which is the middle button on the D-pad. Haven't used my HV in ages but I'm pretty sure that's how it's done.
    Vice President, Team HVFF - http://hvfffollowfocus.webs.com/ HV Follow Focus
    Proud owner CamDolly - Modular Camera Dolly and Slider System

  3. #3
    FilmMaker Extraordinaire Daniel Rutter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    4,487

    Default

    Also, once its focused, hit the "MF" button... that'll stop it blurring. use the focus dial to finetune it...

  4. #4
    Tropical Legend cgbier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Saipan, USA
    Posts
    12,639

    Default

    Not enough contrast for AF?
    What you call a grumpy German? - Sour Kraut

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Awesome replies. I will try these. Thank you. I believe the "MF" button on the HV20 is called "focus"? It blurs with AF (auto focus?) but I'm so clueless that I may have been using it wrong lol.

  6. #6
    Legend Almohada's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    California
    Posts
    5,762

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Radd View Post
    I believe the "MF" button on the HV20 is called "focus"?
    Yes the button is called Focus. Each time you push it, it switches from Manual Focus to Auto Focus. You can see if it's on AF or MF in your viewfinder/ LCD
    Vice President, Team HVFF - http://hvfffollowfocus.webs.com/ HV Follow Focus
    Proud owner CamDolly - Modular Camera Dolly and Slider System

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Thank you.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •