Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Rode Microphone (urgent advice needed)

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    croydon, united kingdon UK
    Posts
    327

    Default Rode Microphone (urgent advice needed)

    hello,
    i need to buy a rode video mic for my canon 60d , but im not sure which one, either the rode stereo videomic or the rode videomic pro....any advise?

    thanks

  2. #2
    ...formerly known as 'drapeama' Marc-Alexandre Drapeau's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Trois-Rivières, Québec
    Posts
    12,103

    Default

    VideoMic and VideoMic pro doesn't seem to be "much" different. And as for the stereo one, I don't see the advantage that justify the price.
    I would go with the VideoMic, either the regular or pro model.
    I DO IT BECAUSE I CAN. I CAN BECAUSE I WANT TO. I WANT TO BECAUSE YOU SAID I COULDN'T.

  3. #3

    Default

    i would go for the newer VideoMic Pro, seems like a better overall design and improvement over the original.
    http://www.hv20.com/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=29116&dateline=131216  4911

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    croydon, united kingdon UK
    Posts
    327

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by drapeama View Post
    VideoMic and VideoMic pro doesn't seem to be "much" different. And as for the stereo one, I don't see the advantage that justify the price.
    I would go with the VideoMic, either the regular or pro model.
    here in UK the price difference is only 10 pounds..... im about to order in amazon.co.uk but im just waiting for some convincing advice to which one to buy...
    is stereo sound suppose to be the sound required for filmmakers?

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    croydon, united kingdon UK
    Posts
    327

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eiker_ir View Post
    i would go for the newer VideoMic Pro, seems like a better overall design and improvement over the original.
    what abt the rode stereo videomic?

  6. #6
    FilmMaker Extraordinaire Daniel Rutter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    4,487

    Default

    Go the VideoMic Pro. The stereomic isn't ideal for dialog... it sounds crap. Besides, you can make it stereo when you edit, which actually sounds much better.

    I would honsestly suggest you stick with the Videomic or the pro version.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    croydon, united kingdon UK
    Posts
    327

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Daniel Rutter View Post
    Go the VideoMic Pro. The stereomic isn't ideal for dialog... it sounds crap. Besides, you can make it stereo when you edit, which actually sounds much better.

    I would honsestly suggest you stick with the Videomic or the pro version.

    oh no...mr rutter ive just purchased the stereo videomic few minutes ago...transaction was done

  8. #8
    FilmMaker Extraordinaire Daniel Rutter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    4,487

    Default

    Whoops... oh well, you've got a mic thats useful as an ambient mic, maybe good for live performances... but you won't enjoy it for dialog recording...

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    croydon, united kingdon UK
    Posts
    327

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Daniel Rutter View Post
    Whoops... oh well, you've got a mic thats useful as an ambient mic, maybe good for live performances... but you won't enjoy it for dialog recording...
    but doesnt the stereo videomic has a mono n stereo function?

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    croydon, united kingdon UK
    Posts
    327

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by m.lomibao View Post
    but doesnt the stereo videomic has a mono n stereo function?
    it doesnt...im gonna call them now to see if i can still cancel...thanks mr rutter

  11. #11
    Administrator Lunchbox's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles, USA
    Posts
    9,251

    Default

    I am a RODE authorized reseller in the US... I know you are in the UK.. I can offer some discount for HV20.com member. PM me for the discount.

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    croydon, united kingdon UK
    Posts
    327

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Lunchbox View Post
    I am a RODE authorized reseller in the US... I know you are in the UK.. I can offer some discount for HV20.com member. PM me for the discount.
    Oh man I wish I've known that b4 .... I've re ordered the rode videomic pro now
    Thanks anyways

  13. #13
    Administrator Lunchbox's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles, USA
    Posts
    9,251

    Default

    Next time, use a better thread title. It helps the rest of us too.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •