Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Dividing up video for DVD Architect

  1. #1
    Forum Mithril blondandfun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    2,762

    Default Dividing up video for DVD Architect

    If I have split a video in 2, how do I just show 1 button which plays both videos in order?

    You can create a playlist but there has to be the 2 files on the menu. I don't want that.

  2. #2
    FilmMaker Extraordinaire Daniel Rutter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    4,487

    Default

    either find a way to script it (I believe there is a way to script such things in DVD Architect, although I've never done this), OR edit the two clips into a Vegas Timeline, then render. Wouldn't take long, just make a less than SD render.

    Other than that, no idea.

  3. #3
    Forum Mithril blondandfun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    2,762

    Default

    I didn't want the viewer to know the files were divided up. I can create a 2nd menu with a "playlist" and a 3rd "submenu" and name it "FILE MENU" or something and that will show all the individual files, however, that is slightly unprofessional.

    This is blu-ray, that's why I divided each video so that if I have to make a correction or a the render fails, it's less time to fix and re-render.

  4. #4
    Forum Mogul Lou van Wijhe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Hilversum, Holland
    Posts
    518

    Default

    The logical way to go is to put both videos in one playlist and link the button to the playlist. Alternatively, you could specify an end action to video 1 (see Media Properties) and under Command Link specify Video 2 as the Destination. When video 1 ends, video 2 then starts playing. Does that solve your problem?

    Lou
    S/W: Sony Vegas Pro 12, PC: Processor Intel i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz, Camera: HF M41 PAL, WD-H43 Wide Adapter, Røde VM/SVM + Canon DM-100 mic.

  5. #5
    Forum Mithril blondandfun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    2,762

    Default

    My understanding is that in order to insert media into the project, that media has to be inserted and has to have a button. It can't be "hidden". So two videos will have to have 2 buttons SOMEWHERE in the project.

    the media has to be ALREADY inserted to create the playlist.

    If I'm wrong correct me, but that's the only options I see when using the program.

  6. #6
    Tropical Legend cgbier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Saipan, USA
    Posts
    13,646

    Default

    I haven't used it for years, but the way Lou describes is the way to go. You don't have to assign buttons to a track if you work with a playlist. The end action should be sufficient. If you don't do that the second clip will be orphaned.

    Does DVD Architect have a graphical disk editor? You should be able to link your two media nodes under one button.
    What you call a grumpy German? - Sour Kraut

  7. #7
    Forum Mogul Lou van Wijhe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Hilversum, Holland
    Posts
    518

    Default

    You can actually insert media outside of a menu by adding it to the project window at the left. Click the + sign on top and follow the instructions. You can link the media to a button later on. Use the Help function, it contains everything you need to know.

    Lou
    S/W: Sony Vegas Pro 12, PC: Processor Intel i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz, Camera: HF M41 PAL, WD-H43 Wide Adapter, Røde VM/SVM + Canon DM-100 mic.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •