Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: $849 at Zoommania.com

  1. #1
    Valued Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    75

    Default $849 at Zoommania.com

    what do you guys think? Is this a bait and switch business, i checked resellerratings.com and they gave them a 7.5/10. But theres only 11 total reviews and i'm wondering how credible they are. If anyones done business with this place please let me know, thanks a lot

    http://www.zoommania.com/2059b001.html

  2. #2

  3. #3

  4. #4
    Valued Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    56

    Default

    add it to the basket and you get:

    Note: Requested quantity not available for some items at this time.

  5. #5
    Valued Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    75

    Default

    yah i noticed that as well, although it works if you add a package haha. After reading a ton of reviews it doesnt seem like there scam artists like the brooklyn line of bait and switch, although this business isnt very professional and i defiantly wont buy from them...to big a risk.

  6. #6
    ex Moderator PWHerman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    198

    Default

    Yes, DO NOT buy from this website...they are most certainly a bait and switch place. I can tell (don't ask me how, heh) that they are just by looking at the layout of the site. If anyone else knows of multiple bait and switch websites (and has a photographic memory like me), they'll know that they all have the same basic layout: different "kits" with different prices on the same page as the camera, and littering the rest of the page are ALWAYS a bunch of "Recommended Accessories" -- other sites won't have all this crap on the page...if you're looking at a camera, it'll have just the camera, and maybe a few other things. They also always have phone numbers right on the front page to try to look professional (it means NOTHING). And seriously...this particular site has the Yahoo! logo on it (as the little icon next to the URL in the taskbar).

    I'm looking for an HV20 soon (can't wait!) and I know that a ton of other people are, too...I'm positive that this site will bring in many sales, so I hope that having this here will dissuade people from taking a few hundred dollar savings plunge, and going with a site like this (and in turn getting screwed over).

    I'm looking at eBay right now...anyone see anything wrong with this listing? This company's selling them NEW for $899 consistently. Yeah, they're in Brooklyn, but that can't be bad 100% of the time...their feedback seems excellent as well. What's everyone else's take on it?

  7. #7
    Valued Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    75

    Default

    Yea i totally aggree with you, its a bait and switch....although it seems they are getting better at ripping people off, that site seems legit. Anyhow, $930 isnt a bad price, but its not great (could have got if for $870 plus tax from dell last week). I personally passed on this price and am waiting for it to drop in the $800's.

  8. #8
    ex Moderator PWHerman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    198

    Default

    Yeah Sean, I guess I'm in the same boat as you. I'm patiently waiting for it to drop into the $800's again, too. (Cause you know as soon as you pony up and buy it, it'll drop down somewhere, and you'll be out of $50+, heh).

  9. #9
    Valued Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    75

    Default

    haha yah Herman, i'm getting to the point where i am just gonna say F it and buy it. Although the cheapest price i see is dell ($930 with taxe) and its taking them 2 weeks to ship for some reason. Soooo i figure i'll give it 2 more weeks, and if the price doesnt drop in that time i'll just buy it.

    P.S probably be a good idea to buy it from a business that has "price protection"

    P.S.S I hate being poor

  10. #10
    ex Moderator PWHerman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    198

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SuperSean23
    P.S.S I hate being poor
    Haha...I can feel ya there.

    I also agree with your first statement...I'm just gonna buy one REALLY soon, too. We should update each other if we find any good deals. Let me know if and when you end up buying yours and I'll do the same.

    P.S. Where are you located in Michigan?
    Last edited by PWHerman; 2007 May 28th at 15:05.

  11. #11
    Valued Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    75

    Default

    Alright I'll let ya know Herman, hopefully we can find some deals soon
    and I live in Lapeer, eastern side of the state.

  12. #12
    ex Moderator PWHerman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    198

    Default

    That's crazy...I'm right outside of Warren. We're like less than an hour away, heh.

  13. #13
    Valued Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    75

    Default

    haha nice, once we get our HV20's lets make some sweet films together! We'll have 2 different angle shots

  14. #14
    ex Moderator PWHerman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    198

    Default

    Heh, that'd be sweet. I've always wanted to do something like that, but I don't have the time, money, or patience...haha. Maybe something will come up in the future, though (that would be awesome). Good to know I've got a local friend on here.

  15. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    10

    Default Just ordered the HV 20

    I ordered through Fat Wallet and Sales.com with shipping 907 been looking for three weeks and am happy with them.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •