i just ordered one from http://www.86photovideo.com/
is this a scam site?
what should i do?
i ordered lastnight
i just ordered one from http://www.86photovideo.com/
is this a scam site?
what should i do?
i ordered lastnight
http://www.resellerratings.com/store...et_Photo_Video
Smells like Scam spirit.
Edit: That price of $409 for an HV30 is too good too be true, despite the falling prices of HV30's. Look at how EXPENSIVE those accessories are, 2GB SD card for $269. Even their batteries are absurdly priced, they're more than the Canon branded ones.
"To be an artist means never to avert one's eyes."
-Akira Kurosawa
A great video on how to avoid scams when purchasing digital cameras and camcorders online
http://35mmadapter.blogspot.com/2008...g-scammed.html
It's a good video, but as often is the case with these types of things, it really only gives the basics,
and concentrates more on looking cool and snazzy than providing in-depth information.
And to top it all off, it has some misinformation too.
For instance, Grey Market items don't automatically equal a scam.
As long as you know what you are buying, a grey market item can save you some dough, and the quality may well be the exact same as for the 'proper' item.
I bought my HVX200 as a grey market item (knowing this upfront), as I knew I was going to modify it, and void any warranty I'd have gotten with a 'proper' non-grey market cam anyway.
I saved a bunch of money at the time (about $700) going this way.
Even B&H sells grey market items, but makes sure this is prominently listed in the description.
So, again, grey market not necessarily = scam!
My definition of a scam is if don't get what you expected for an agreed price.
Also, don't forget about refurbished cameras. I got an HV20 off of newegg.com for $430 plus shipping because it was refurbished. A lot of people cringe at the idea of refurbished because it's not new, but refurbished products are tested for quality and performance more than new products are. The only tradeoff is typically that the warranty on them is much shorter. Mine is only 30 days, but it's worth it for the reduced price.
SCAM! Way overpriced accessories are a sure tipoff. Follow TravMal advice immediately, if not sooner. Don't be a sucker!
I know enough to know what works ... at least until it blows up.Then I know it don't.
Hey guys...
first of all, I want to say THANK YOU.. this forum is packed with useful information.. now, here's my case.. Excuse me if this has been posted before in another thread.. but here I go..
I've been trying to get a HV30.. and buying a new unit is kinda difficult.. out of my budget.. Went to ebay and most of the cameras are around $500 - $600 bucks.. in mint condition
but then I saw this combo.. and it seems to me really suspicious how cheap it is.. specially taking in consideration they claim the camera is NEW
http://cgi.ebay.com/Canon-HV30-HD-Ca...QQcmdZViewItem
It includes a tele and a wide lens (I will throw them to the trash since they look low quality) and some other useless stuff.. a tripod (alredy got one) a hard case (alredy got one as well)
so.. my question is.. would be safe to get this? because it seems so good it cant be true.. the seller (JerseyPhoto) is a ID verified, and is a power seller.. and 99.3 feedback.. any sugestions? (sorry for the really long post btw)
Seems fine to me. Considering that you said some HV30's are around $500, that would leave over $100 to cover the two additional lenses, which are probably pretty "cheap" ones in light of the price.
I would worry about the stuff being in good condition, since it's hard to tell from such a "wholeseller." Peace of mind is worth a few extra tens of bucks, isn't it?
Legit? http://www.resellerratings.com/store/HighpointCameras
All the reviewers have only had one review...so I'm hesitant to pull the trigger on it.
I think you're right to be suspicious: besides having only a single ten-out-of-ten 'review' for Highpoint Cameras, every last one of those 'reviewers' created their resellerratings.com user ID the same day as leaving their near-identical 'reviews,' and every last one of them has an identical completely empty profile — smells like Astroturf to me ...
Also, the Highpoint Cameras website has a number of big RED FLAGS, such as no indication of a physical address, or even which state they're located in.
EDIT: Actually, after a bit of digging in their Help pages I found this shipping address for RMAs:
Shipping address is
Highpointcameras
14A 53rd st.
7th floor,
Brooklyn, NY 11232
Wow, an anonymous grey steel door in Crooklyn ... imagine my surprise!![]()
Last edited by Erik Bien; 2009 February 2nd at 15:40.
DON'T! I just did and on the phone they informed me that it's grey market and then I cancelled and they said they'd only cancel if I gqave them 5 star feedback. I later reported it. It also doesn't come with the mnftr waranty like it says.
My own question... B & H has a good rep but I don't know what grey market and what's not? Are these? How can I tell?
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...r.html#reviews
or
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/cont...553640&Cis=REG
Thanks
There's nothing per se wrong with grey market, as long as you are aware of the fact before buying.
You can save some dough, and the items are of equal quality to non-gery market. Warranty is a concern however.
B&H's grey market items explanation (designated on their website as "IMPORTED"):
U.S. & Grey Market Items
Is ZipZoomFly a grey market company? Has anyone had good/bad experiences buying from them? On their website, they sell the HV 30 for $599 but on Ebay they sell it for $549 (and they say it's the exact same camera, brand new, with warranty). Something doesn't add up.
I'd like to know about zipzoomfly too. Good price but no return policy. Says it comes with a manufacturer warranty though....
ZipZoomfly.com is reputable. But keep in mind that they are primarily a computer vendor, as opposed to B&H, which specializes in photo and video. The three online computer stores that are both reputable and cheap are Mwave.com, Newegg.com and ZipZoomfly.com.
See what others have to say.
BTW, our NTSC HV-30 cameras are NOT "grey market."
I just received my second HV20 from Zipzoomfly today. It's refurbished. Looks brand new. (I got my first one from Best Buy.)
Haven't tried it out yet. I'll shoot some video and upload it.
I also took some pictures of the box and the camcorder and I'll also post them in a few days so you can know what to expect if you're interested.
And the Canon Service Center is right down the street from me. Whew!
JM
Curiosity compelled me to check. This morning their price is 599.00 and I don't see free s&h on their site. Our price is 599.00 with free s&h. They earned a 6.63/10 six-month rating and B&H has 9.66/10. I'm not sure that'd all make me feel better. :-)
Was it advertised as a refurb or was this a pleasant surprise? :-)
Yes. And it still is.
I KNEW the HV20 I was ordering was a refurb.
It's still $435 at Zipzoomfly: $478 total with CA sales tax and shipping.
It looks, feels, and works like a new HV20. For all I know, it might be: just an unsold one. If the refurb didn't have a gold refurb sticker on the bottom I couldn't tell the two camcorders apart.
I took some video in all four video modes and they look great on the LCD. I'll be posting some in a few days along with some stills of the refurb camcorder and the box it came in, if you're interested.
I've done business with Zipzoomfly twice before: I bought a new Nvidia GTS 8800 OC 640MB graphics card and I bought 2 GB of Corsair memory. No problems with either and this was a year and a half ago. My quad-core PC system is still running strong.
JM