PDA

View Full Version : Airbus A380 landing at MSP 11-27-07



scottjriel
2007 November 27th, 21:33
720p

http://hv20.info/yopu/a380scottjriel1.wmv

Eugenia Loli-Queru
2007 November 27th, 21:43
This video does not playback. You used the WMV3 codec which is ancient and it simply does not playback on either WMP or VLC. It also crashed my Vegas. Please re-encode.

tehellet
2007 November 27th, 21:55
The file won't play for me. Tried quicktime (with wmv plugin), VLC, Windows Media Player...

scottjriel
2007 November 27th, 22:07
Odd. Let me try again..

scottjriel
2007 November 27th, 22:52
First encode was WMV9 which worked for me in BSPlayer but didnt in windows media player version 9?? Here is WMV8
http://hv20.info/yopu/a380scottjriel2.wmv

Eugenia Loli-Queru
2007 November 27th, 23:53
No, it does not work either. This one is trying to decode using WMV2. Please use another application to encode. The app you are using is buggy.

scottjriel
2007 November 28th, 07:41
I guess I will have to figure out what my computer and Vegas are doing.

duketh
2007 November 28th, 10:46
If you get it wrong one more time someone will come round to your house and break your knees

.........i joke of course

*shifty eyes*

scottjriel
2007 November 28th, 14:20
I would hope so. Thats usually how people learn :)

scottjriel
2007 November 28th, 17:36
SO I think I need some help. WMV worked awesome for me using WMV9 in Vegas but supposedly I am being told that it comes out as version 2 or three when I render. Also I try .mpg and the file size comes out to 135MB where before it was 20 MB in WMV9. I just tried with AVI and the file ended up being 201MB for just unders 60 seconds and it didn't even play. What is the sure fire way to render this with a relatively small file size?

duketh
2007 November 28th, 18:09
can someone just give scott a codec and the settings they use? once he knows it he will not do this again and everyone is happy.

Eugenia Loli-Queru
2007 November 28th, 18:23
If you are using Vegas, simply use one of these options: http://eugenia.gnomefiles.org/2007/11/09/exporting-with-vegas-for-vimeo-hd/

scottjriel
2007 November 28th, 18:27
I was looking at your link from another post also. I will give that a shot. Sorry for the ignorance and noobism but I thought I had it right the first and then second times. Thanks again.

duketh
2007 November 28th, 18:47
*waits in the shadows, baseball bat in hand*

scottjriel
2007 November 28th, 19:45
Hopefully third times a charm http://hv20.info/yopu/a380scottjriel3.wmv

duketh
2007 November 28th, 20:04
*starts to swing bat*

scottjriel
2007 November 28th, 20:24
verdict??

Eugenia Loli-Queru
2007 November 28th, 20:58
It does not work either. Which means that your Windows setup is messed up. You have a codec installed that has overwritten the Windows WMV codec or something and Vegas uses that buggy codec instead, or something. Make sure you have WMP11 installed and all XP/Vista updates. If you can't find which codec/app creates the problem, you might have to re-install Windows...

stanswx
2007 November 28th, 21:11
It tries to play but all I get is a still image of the plane and then WMP complains about the file.

scottjriel
2007 November 28th, 22:30
Freak me I hate video editing. Give me a day to see what I can come up with..

Eugenia Loli-Queru
2007 November 28th, 23:04
The problem is not video editing but codec collision on your PC... :)
As a last resort, try this: http://eugenia.gnomefiles.org/2007/08/11/from-dvhdvavchd-to-ps3xbox360appletv/

514films
2007 November 28th, 23:07
where was this?

alwyn
2007 November 29th, 00:01
If you get it wrong one more time
No basebats, just get an A380 to land on his house! :hv20-smilie77:

Poor fella: tries to post a WMV for us to look at and gets told to re-install Windows! Gasp! :hv20-smilie15:

Sounds like you need to use this:

http://www.softella.com/dsfm/index.en.htm

Now I don't profess to be an expert on codecs because I ain't but Eugenia may be able to help you thru.

w.pasman
2007 November 29th, 02:47
Tried your version 3
Quicktime shows just a white screen. The info says that there is only an audio track encoded at 1534.86kbit/s (!!!!) but no video track.
MPlayer crashes right away. The log message says something that mplayer crashed and that that should never have happened
VLC at least shows a plane for a split second before stopping.

Worley
2007 November 29th, 04:11
Hmm. You could try one of the free codec packs from http://www.free-codecs.com/download/Codec_Pack_All_in_1.htm.

That might help.

alwyn
2007 November 29th, 04:55
Be very wary of free codec packs. They load all sorts of codecs onto your computer that you may well not need and which may well "steal" focus from a good codec as it sounds like has happened here. :hv20-smilie77:

Much better a "clean" system and then only load the very minimum of codecs that you need.

Jessica
2007 November 29th, 07:00
Scott, just save all your important stuff on external HDD, then do format c: and reinstall windows! :D Thats what I always do when my PC goes wierd on me. Im way too lazy to mess around, trying to fix stupid errors. :)

scottjriel
2007 November 29th, 07:26
I just reinstalled windows a couple of weeks ago and installed some old codec packs that I had on a harddrive. I'm betting thats where my problem lies but I also woulda bet the video would have worked for others the last three times. I will work on it again when I am back at my computer. I also have the takeoff of this beast that I would like to show too.

duketh
2007 November 29th, 09:06
LETS JUST BREAK HIS KNEES!! HE HAD HIS CHANCE!!!

keep trying scott, you'll get there.
windows xp reinstall is your last resort - imho.

scottjriel
2007 November 29th, 16:31
If i put my new video into GSPOT it should give me a codec right? The previous ones that I have uploaded have all said NA within that field. I am assuming if things work out it should tell me the codec?

scottjriel
2007 November 29th, 18:51
lets give this another shot http://hv20.info/yopu/A380scottjriel.mp4

Eugenia Loli-Queru
2007 November 29th, 18:55
No, this does not work either. Please use my ffmpeg method as I linked earlier.

scottjriel
2007 November 30th, 12:26
I think I figured out my problem. For some reason I uploaded using ASCII rather than binary. *braces for bats*

w.pasman
2007 November 30th, 13:31
So please upload it binary!!! I wanna see that A380 :hv20-smilie45:

scottjriel
2007 November 30th, 13:52
check back in about 4 hours or so. I should have a takeoff landing and a go around from some Northwest planes.

tcindie
2007 November 30th, 14:46
Scott, where in the Twin Cities are you located? I'm up in the north east suburbs.. :)

scottjriel
2007 November 30th, 15:41
You asked me that In another thread :). Lakeville but work in MPLS.

duketh
2007 November 30th, 15:45
woo you have nearly got a clip uploaded........which actually thinking about i haven't done yet. maybe this weekend.

scottjriel
2007 November 30th, 18:24
one last attempt before I stab my eyes out and try to learn all this crap blind. http://hv20.info/yopu/a380scottjriel9.mp4
someday I will try and upload higher quality but I am just trying to get this shat working so hopefully you can enjoy this beast.

Eugenia Loli-Queru
2007 November 30th, 19:32
YES, this works. What did you do differently this time?

scottjriel
2007 November 30th, 19:36
FTP binary for the win. I was using ASCII for some unknown reason the previous failed attempts.

Eugenia Loli-Queru
2007 November 30th, 19:56
aaah... that explains it.

scottjriel
2007 November 30th, 22:24
http://hv20.info/yopu/a380takeoffscottjriel.mp4 A380 Takeoff

http://hv20.info/yopu/goaroundscottjriel.mp4 Go around while A380 taxiing

duketh
2007 December 1st, 10:02
congrats scott

*puts bat back in box*

tcindie
2007 December 1st, 12:48
You asked me that In another thread :). Lakeville but work in MPLS.

So I did... it's been a rough few weeks. Wasn't sure if I had asked already or not. But I think I do remember now... :)

w.pasman
2007 December 3rd, 14:34
Nice, the first HD images I saw of the A380!

w.pasman
2007 December 3rd, 14:58
I especially like the take-off, looks like it's hardly accelerating and it lifts off while you think it is just at over taxi speed. Like a zeppelin taking off !

BTW the take off has some weird problems, black frames, broken frames and broken sound parts.

scottjriel
2007 December 4th, 07:56
HMM I will investigate. Thanks.