PDA

View Full Version : $849 at Zoommania.com



SuperSean23
2007 May 23rd, 08:20
what do you guys think? Is this a bait and switch business, i checked resellerratings.com and they gave them a 7.5/10. But theres only 11 total reviews and i'm wondering how credible they are. If anyones done business with this place please let me know, thanks a lot:hv20-smilie70:

http://www.zoommania.com/2059b001.html

SuperSean23
2007 May 23rd, 08:31
heres more ratings of them...
http://shopping.yahoo.com/merchrating/user_rv.html?merchant_id=1021775

ozvena
2007 May 23rd, 08:53
http://www.resellerratings.com/store/Zoommania

ozvena
2007 May 23rd, 08:56
add it to the basket and you get:

Note: Requested quantity not available for some items at this time.

SuperSean23
2007 May 23rd, 09:05
yah i noticed that as well, although it works if you add a package haha. After reading a ton of reviews it doesnt seem like there scam artists like the brooklyn line of bait and switch, although this business isnt very professional and i defiantly wont buy from them...to big a risk.

PWHerman
2007 May 25th, 02:01
Yes, DO NOT buy from this website...they are most certainly a bait and switch place. I can tell (don't ask me how, heh) that they are just by looking at the layout of the site. If anyone else knows of multiple bait and switch websites (and has a photographic memory like me), they'll know that they all have the same basic layout: different "kits" with different prices on the same page as the camera, and littering the rest of the page are ALWAYS a bunch of "Recommended Accessories" -- other sites won't have all this crap on the page...if you're looking at a camera, it'll have just the camera, and maybe a few other things. They also always have phone numbers right on the front page to try to look professional (it means NOTHING). And seriously...this particular site has the Yahoo! logo on it (as the little icon next to the URL in the taskbar).

I'm looking for an HV20 soon (can't wait!) and I know that a ton of other people are, too...I'm positive that this site will bring in many sales, so I hope that having this here will dissuade people from taking a few hundred dollar savings plunge, and going with a site like this (and in turn getting screwed over).

I'm looking at eBay right now...anyone see anything wrong with this (http://cgi.ebay.com/Canon-HV20-High-Definition-MiniDV-Camcorder_W0QQitemZ290120351818QQihZ019QQcategoryZ 20330QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem) listing? This company's selling them NEW for $899 consistently. Yeah, they're in Brooklyn, but that can't be bad 100% of the time...their feedback seems excellent as well. What's everyone else's take on it?

SuperSean23
2007 May 25th, 04:32
Yea i totally aggree with you, its a bait and switch....although it seems they are getting better at ripping people off, that site seems legit. Anyhow, $930 isnt a bad price, but its not great (could have got if for $870 plus tax from dell last week). I personally passed on this price and am waiting for it to drop in the $800's.

PWHerman
2007 May 26th, 12:07
Yeah Sean, I guess I'm in the same boat as you. I'm patiently waiting for it to drop into the $800's again, too. (Cause you know as soon as you pony up and buy it, it'll drop down somewhere, and you'll be out of $50+, heh).

SuperSean23
2007 May 27th, 10:02
haha yah Herman, i'm getting to the point where i am just gonna say F it and buy it. Although the cheapest price i see is dell ($930 with taxe) and its taking them 2 weeks to ship for some reason. Soooo i figure i'll give it 2 more weeks, and if the price doesnt drop in that time i'll just buy it.

P.S probably be a good idea to buy it from a business that has "price protection"

P.S.S I hate being poor

PWHerman
2007 May 28th, 15:01
P.S.S I hate being poor

Haha...I can feel ya there.

I also agree with your first statement...I'm just gonna buy one REALLY soon, too. We should update each other if we find any good deals. Let me know if and when you end up buying yours and I'll do the same.

P.S. Where are you located in Michigan?

SuperSean23
2007 May 28th, 15:36
Alright I'll let ya know Herman, hopefully we can find some deals soon:)
and I live in Lapeer, eastern side of the state.

PWHerman
2007 May 28th, 20:07
That's crazy...I'm right outside of Warren. We're like less than an hour away, heh.

SuperSean23
2007 May 28th, 20:14
haha nice, once we get our HV20's lets make some sweet films together! We'll have 2 different angle shots

PWHerman
2007 May 28th, 20:52
Heh, that'd be sweet. I've always wanted to do something like that, but I don't have the time, money, or patience...haha. Maybe something will come up in the future, though (that would be awesome). Good to know I've got a local friend on here.

wylds1
2007 June 14th, 14:22
:hv20-smilie81: I ordered through Fat Wallet and Sales.com with shipping 907 been looking for three weeks and am happy with them.:hv20-smilie58: