PDA

View Full Version : Anyone try buying lights from Image West?



SassyCrow
2009 October 25th, 18:08
Hello, I've posted this over at the DVX User website, maybe you guys could help..

In my search for cheap lighting equipment I've stumbled upon these guys...

http://imagewest.tv/

Seems I could get a 1000k Arri clone (what they call their "BluLine") for $400 with a stand and barn doors. They have 650's, 300's and 150's as well, and they all go down in price accordingly. Anyone have any experience with them? What do you guys think?

fishops
2009 October 25th, 18:56
You would be much better off getting used fixtures from eBay. I can't speak to the quality of their equipment, but that website seems very sketchy. They use the term "open face fresnel" which is a contradiction, and they advertise their tungstens as "flicker free" when in fact every tungsten fixture is inherently flicker free.

Look for used altman, strand, ianiro, mole or arri fresnels on eBay. They're very hard to kill, so buying used isn't much of a gamble.

1
2009 October 25th, 18:57
http://www.resellerratings.com/store/imageWest